While the first book executed this gimmick more successfully (there are only so many words that rhyme with “Boo”), this...

PEEK-A-ZOO!

From the Peek-a series

The follow-up to the long-lived and much-loved Peek-a-Who? (2000) is finally here.

As with the first book, a game of peekaboo plays out through die-cut holes that allow readers a glimpse through one right-hand page to the next. Only a patterned coat, a feathered head or pair of eyes is visible through the hole. The words “Peek-a” and the partial image are an invitation to guess, and the page turn reveals the entire creature. The animals are typical zoo animals, and either their names or some attribute rhymes with the “Boo” (a kangaroo mommy/joey dyad, a cockatoo, a tiger that “mews” and a panda that chews on “bamboo”). On one of the final pages, part of a Mylar mirror is visible through the hole with a sign reading “Please feed the animal!” hanging below, clipped to what looks like bars on a cage. When the page is turned, a nearly full Mylar panel is revealed with the complete phrase “Peek-a / you, too!” now visible. Laden’s boldly colored gouache art, which has the look of prints, uses the signature style found in the original.

While the first book executed this gimmick more successfully (there are only so many words that rhyme with “Boo”), this companion title is a welcome pairing. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)

Pub Date: March 4, 2014

ISBN: 978-1-4521-1175-9

Page Count: 22

Publisher: Chronicle Books

Review Posted Online: March 31, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 1, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An unabashed love letter from mother.

I LOVE YOU, LITTLE POOKIE

From the Little Pookie series

A sweet celebration of the bond between a mother and her Pookie.

The eighth installment in this always charming series eschews the episodic drama and silliness of earlier outing such as Spooky Pookie (2015) in favor of a mom’s-eye-view celebration of her child and the time they spend together. There is, of course, nothing wrong with drama and silliness. But while the lack of conflict and plot in favor of unapologetic sentiment makes this book a quick read, that doesn’t make it any less endearing. The rhymed verse captures a mother’s wonder as she observes the many facets of her child’s personality: “Ah, Pookie. My little one. My funny one. My child. // Sometimes you are quiet. Sometimes you are wild.” On the simple joys of shared moments, she notes, “I love to go walking with you by my side. / I love when we sing when we go for a ride. // And I love just to watch as you think and you play. / The way that you are is a wonderful way.” Paired with author/illustrator Boynton’s irresistible renderings of a porcine mommy and her playful, snuggly little piglet, the result is impossible to fault. Whether quietly reading, running in a tiger suit, singing with mom in the car, ears flapping in the breeze, or enjoying the safety of mom’s embrace, Pookie’s appeal continues unabated.

An unabashed love letter from mother. (Board book. 1-4)

Pub Date: Dec. 4, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-5344-3723-4

Page Count: 18

Publisher: Little Simon/Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: Dec. 5, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

Hee haw.

Reader Votes

  • Readers Vote
  • 30

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE WONKY DONKEY

The print version of a knee-slapping cumulative ditty.

In the song, Smith meets a donkey on the road. It is three-legged, and so a “wonky donkey” that, on further examination, has but one eye and so is a “winky wonky donkey” with a taste for country music and therefore a “honky-tonky winky wonky donkey,” and so on to a final characterization as a “spunky hanky-panky cranky stinky-dinky lanky honky-tonky winky wonky donkey.” A free musical recording (of this version, anyway—the author’s website hints at an adults-only version of the song) is available from the publisher and elsewhere online. Even though the book has no included soundtrack, the sly, high-spirited, eye patch–sporting donkey that grins, winks, farts, and clumps its way through the song on a prosthetic metal hoof in Cowley’s informal watercolors supplies comical visual flourishes for the silly wordplay. Look for ready guffaws from young audiences, whether read or sung, though those attuned to disability stereotypes may find themselves wincing instead or as well.

Hee haw. (Picture book. 5-7)

Pub Date: May 1, 2010

ISBN: 978-0-545-26124-1

Page Count: 26

Publisher: Scholastic

Review Posted Online: Dec. 29, 2018

Did you like this book?

more