Outstanding business insights in a work brimming with energy and vitality.

THE CHIEF REINVENTION OFFICER HANDBOOK

HOW TO THRIVE IN CHAOS

An entrepreneur argues for business reinvention in this guide.

Zhexembayeva habitually writes about edgy business issues. In Overfished Ocean Strategy (2014), she urged business leaders to use the scarcity of resources to strategic advantage. Here, she makes a solid case for pursuing reinvention as a business strategy. While “change” is almost a cliché in business books, the author believes it can be a valuable motivational force for reinventing processes. Indeed, this is the premise of her visionary work: “The challenge we face isn’t about trying to survive until things stabilize, but rather about learning to thrive in constant chaos. That happens only when we accept that change is no longer a project and build a well-thought-out reinvention system that works.” That system is driven by a senior executive she terms “Chief Reinvention Officer” to ensure that this strategy is viewed as a top corporate priority. Zhexembayeva says she tested reinvention via workshops, surveys, and implementation of the tools described in this volume with “over 3,000 practitioners from more than 40 countries,” an impressive validation of the concept. The book itself follows a seemingly traditional, logical course in revealing the aspects of reinvention in three parts. It begins with an exploration of why businesses get into trouble, transitions to what they need to do to survive, and concludes with how to thrive. But the manner in which the material is presented is unconventional, bold, and exhilarating. A unique table of contents organized as a flow chart and meticulously designed and illustrated pages with exceptional attention to readability and ample room to write answers to engaging questions put this guide visually in a class by itself.

The content is as compelling as the manual’s design. The author relies on the central theme of comparing a business to a ship—far from unique but a powerful thread that maintains continuity through all three brilliantly executed sections. Zhexembayeva starts Part 1 with a provocative claim, “What Really Sank the Titanic,” which is likely to surprise many readers. She then seamlessly transitions to “Titanics of the Twenty-first Century”—companies in the Fortune 500—pointing out that only 60 of them from 1955 have survived today, “a sinking rate of 88%.” She labels this “a corporate disease.” The author then shares the results of original research suggesting why reinvention is the way forward for most companies. Part 2 focuses on what companies can do to “stay afloat.” Here, Zhexembayeva shares five intriguing “flips”—“crucial shifts in the way we think about, design, and implement change.” Three relevant case studies follow, with the opportunity for readers to write down their own reactions. Part 3 offers several interactive, valuable tools to help leaders reinvent their businesses. A “Bonus” section includes “Business Model Reinvention Cards,” detailing 25 models to help “structure, discuss, and develop projects.” These cards are just the creative icing on the cake. The author adds a wealth of outside resources, including volumes and articles (cleverly illustrated on bookshelves), to supplement the text.

Outstanding business insights in a work brimming with energy and vitality.

Pub Date: Oct. 27, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-64687-032-5

Page Count: 275

Publisher: Ideapress Publishing

Review Posted Online: Nov. 23, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2021

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

Gucci demonstrates all the bravado and ferocious self-confidence that he counsels—and the photos are a nice bonus.

THE GUCCI MANE GUIDE TO GREATNESS

A hip-hop star who went on his first international tour wearing an ankle monitor explains how to succeed.

“The words you are about to read can help you,” writes Gucci. “That’s because there is truth in them. These are words of wisdom, like the Bible and its proverbs.” Unquestionably, Gucci likes to aim high, as many of his proverbs attest: “Stop Underestimating Yourself”; “Whatever You’re Thinking, Think Bigger”; “Nobody Cares. Work Harder”; “When They Sleep, I’m Grinding”; “Do More, Get More.” And never forget, “Women Are Brilliant.” Gucci not only shares his recipes for success. As in a cookbook that shows pictures of the end result, the author includes dozens of dazzling photos of himself and his beautiful wife, among them a series on his surprise wedding proposal at an Atlanta Hawks game. After the success of his bestselling debut, The Autobiography of Gucci Mane, Gucci has realized there is money to be made in the book business. In addition to the Bible, he has his eye on Malcolm Gladwell and his reported $5 million advances. While he is “cool with Malcolm Gladwell being more celebrated than me as an author…the difference between Malcolm Gladwell and me is that I’m going to make more money because I’m going to make so many books for my following….You can enjoy this book or not, but I’m going to make my fifty-second book, my hundred and eighth book.” Many readers will hope that one of them will be a diet book, as the 100-plus pounds Gucci has lost and kept off are a frequent topic—alas, he doesn’t reveal his weight loss secrets here. Until the next book, try to live the Gucci Mane way. “Avoid lazy and miserable people,” and “Find something to be excited about every day.”

Gucci demonstrates all the bravado and ferocious self-confidence that he counsels—and the photos are a nice bonus.

Pub Date: Oct. 13, 2020

ISBN: N/A

Page Count: 272

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: Sept. 10, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2020

Did you like this book?

more