Sincere but overreaches a bit.

I AM A KINDNESS HERO

From the I Am a Warrior Goddess series

A young child embodies the many facets of kindness in this affirming read.

A repetitive mantra of “I am” introduces text that demonstrates how the main character engages in acts of kindness that benefit those around them: “I am a kindness hero. / I am a defender of animals…. / I am helpful. / I am patient.” These broad and sometimes-ambiguous proclamations are accompanied by illustrations that provide context and present audience-friendly scenes of generosity toward the Earth, animals, and other humans. The child’s community-focused efforts include protecting insects by building them a nesting box, helping an elder cross the street, and confronting a bully on behalf of a smaller child. Turning inward, the main character acknowledges overcoming jealousy and listening sympathetically as internal processes that respond to others with compassion. These accessible examples reassure readers that kindness empowers the enactor through actions both large and small. While these behaviors may lead to positive outcomes, the text inflates the effect of kindness, concluding that “all the people who I meet…will know they are loved.” A soothing color palette grounded in muted greens reinforces the gentle, uplifting tone of the book. The main character has black hair, brown skin, and blue eyes. Secondary characters are represented in a variety of skin tones.

Sincere but overreaches a bit. (Picture book. 3-7)

Pub Date: Jan. 26, 2021

ISBN: 978-1-68364-472-9

Page Count: 32

Publisher: Sounds True

Review Posted Online: Nov. 18, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 1, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A wandering effort, happy but pointless.

DRAGONS LOVE TACOS

From the Dragons Love Tacos series

The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos.

Rubin’s story starts with an incantatory edge: “Hey, kid! Did you know that dragons love tacos? They love beef tacos and chicken tacos. They love really big gigantic tacos and tiny little baby tacos as well.” The playing field is set: dragons, tacos. As a pairing, they are fairly silly, and when the kicker comes in—that dragons hate spicy salsa, which ignites their inner fireworks—the silliness is sillier still. Second nature, after all, is for dragons to blow flames out their noses. So when the kid throws a taco party for the dragons, it seems a weak device that the clearly labeled “totally mild” salsa comes with spicy jalapenos in the fine print, prompting the dragons to burn down the house, resulting in a barn-raising at which more tacos are served. Harmless, but if there is a parable hidden in the dragon-taco tale, it is hidden in the unlit deep, and as a measure of lunacy, bridled or unbridled, it doesn’t make the leap into the outer reaches of imagination. Salmieri’s artwork is fitting, with a crabbed, ethereal line work reminiscent of Peter Sís, but the story does not offer it enough range.

A wandering effort, happy but pointless. (Picture book. 3-5)

Pub Date: June 14, 2012

ISBN: 978-0-8037-3680-1

Page Count: 40

Publisher: Dial Books

Review Posted Online: March 28, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 15, 2012

Did you like this book?

Yes, the Pigeon has to go to school, and so do readers, and this book will surely ease the way.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE PIGEON HAS TO GO TO SCHOOL!

From the Pigeon series

All the typical worries and excuses kids have about school are filtered through Willems’ hysterical, bus-loving Pigeon.

Told mostly in speech balloons, the bird’s monologue will have kids (and their caregivers) in stitches at Pigeon’s excuses. From already knowing everything (except whatever question readers choose to provide in response to “Go ahead—ask me a question. / Any question!”) to fearing learning too much (“My head might pop off”), Pigeon’s imagination has run wild. Readers familiar with Pigeon will recognize the muted, matte backgrounds that show off the bird’s shenanigans so well. As in previous outings, Willems varies the size of the pigeon on the page to help communicate emotion, the bird teeny small on the double-page spread that illustrates the confession that “I’m… / scared.” And Pigeon’s eight-box rant about all the perils of school (“The unknown stresses me out, dude”) is marvelously followed by the realization (complete with lightbulb thought bubble) that school is the place for students to practice, with experts, all those skills they don’t yet have. But it is the ending that is so Willems, so Pigeon, and so perfect. Pigeon’s last question is “Well, HOW am I supposed to get there, anyway!?!” Readers will readily guess both the answer and Pigeon’s reaction.

Yes, the Pigeon has to go to school, and so do readers, and this book will surely ease the way. (Picture book. 3-6)

Pub Date: July 2, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-368-04645-9

Page Count: 40

Publisher: Hyperion

Review Posted Online: May 8, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more