Kirkus Reviews QR Code
BROKEN PRIDE by Erin Hunter Kirkus Star


From the Bravelands series, volume 1

by Erin Hunter

Pub Date: June 6th, 2017
ISBN: 978-0-06-264202-8
Publisher: Harper/HarperCollins

When a rival lion violently assumes leadership of a pride, Fearless Gallantpride, son of the fallen leader, is forced to run. But how can one young cub survive on his own?

Fearless is taken in by a troop of baboons, but even though he has his friends, Thorn and Mud, he is forever an outsider. Thorn is similarly challenged. Kept from the one he loves by caste law, he needs to find a way to elevate his status or change the tradition. Fearless and Thorn decide to visit the Great Mother of Bravelands during the Great Gathering in order to ask for her help. There they meet Sky, a young elephant, who sees visions whenever she touches the bones of the dead. The trio must use all of their gifts if they are to avoid the terrible future that Sky has seen for all—grass-eaters, flesh-eaters, and rot-eaters alike. Deep characters, a complex plot, rich mythology, and a stunning setting all come together to prove once again that the Hunter collective are master storytellers. Fans of Warriors will thrill at the opportunity to travel from the forest to the savanna in this brand new series.

Wild and wonderful.

(Fantasy. 8-12)