Book List

Best Indie Mysteries, Crime Stories & Thrillers of 2020

  • FICTION

    RINN'S CROSSING

    MARCH 30, 2020

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

RINN'S CROSSING

by Russell Heath

A thrilling, engrossing work of serpentine intrigue and crisp characterization with a conservationist conscience. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    BURNING JUSTICE

    APRIL 28, 2020

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

BURNING JUSTICE

by Marti Green

A captivating and intimate look at injustices in the judicial system. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    ANARCHY OF THE MICE

    MAY 12, 2020

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

ANARCHY OF THE MICE

by Jeff Bond

A raucously entertaining actioner with a sting of social satire. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE MIT MURDERS

    NOV. 4, 2019

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

THE MIT MURDERS

by Stephen L Bruneau

A sharp-witted detective hunts a psychopath schooled in murder; highly recommended. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE CONCORDAT

    JUNE 20, 2018

FICTION

THE CONCORDAT

by Sean Heary

Highly recommended for fans of thrillers in the vein of Dan Brown’s and Robert Harris’ works. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    ROOT AND BRANCH

    MAY 26, 2020

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

ROOT AND BRANCH

by Preston Fleming

A shrewdly written tale with a robust cast of characters and a frightening intifada in the U.S. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    WHEN DEATH IMITATES ART

    FEB. 24, 2018

FICTION

WHEN DEATH IMITATES ART

by P.D. Halt

An engagingly written mystery featuring art, glamour, sex, love, and murder. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

Talia Hibbert shares how to write an inclusive romance with heart, soul, and humor.

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!