Book List

10 Books Getting Major Award Buzz

  • FICTION

    NO ONE IS TALKING ABOUT THIS

    FEB. 16, 2021

FICTION

NO ONE IS TALKING ABOUT THIS

by Patricia Lockwood

An insightful—frequently funny, often devastating—meditation on human existence online and off. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    CLOUD CUCKOO LAND

    SEPT. 28, 2021

FICTION

CLOUD CUCKOO LAND

by Anthony Doerr

As the pieces of this magical literary puzzle snap together, a flicker of hope is sparked for our benighted world. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    MATRIX

    SEPT. 7, 2021

FICTION

MATRIX

by Lauren Groff

Groff’s trademarkworthy sentences bring vivid buoyancy to a magisterial story. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    BEWILDERMENT

    SEPT. 21, 2021

FICTION

BEWILDERMENT

by Richard Powers

A touching novel that offers a vital message with uncommon sympathy and intelligence. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    A LITTLE DEVIL IN AMERICA

    MARCH 30, 2021

HISTORY

A LITTLE DEVIL IN AMERICA

by Hanif Abdurraqib

Another winner from Abdurraqib, a writer always worth paying attention to. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    TASTES LIKE WAR

    MAY 18, 2021

NONFICTION

TASTES LIKE WAR

by Grace M. Cho

A wrenching, powerful account of the long-term effects of the immigrant experience. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    COVERED WITH NIGHT

    APRIL 27, 2021

HISTORY

COVERED WITH NIGHT

by Nicole Eustace

A fine contribution to the literature of Colonial America, where peace was far harder to achieve than war. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    REVOLUTION IN OUR TIME

    NOV. 23, 2021

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

REVOLUTION IN OUR TIME

by Kekla Magoon

The highly readable and not-to-be-missed story of America’s history and current reality. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    LAST NIGHT AT THE TELEGRAPH CLUB

    JAN. 19, 2021

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

LAST NIGHT AT THE TELEGRAPH CLUB

by Malinda Lo

Beautifully written historical fiction about giddy, queer first love. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!